Motorcycles and Whiskey ..

This past weekend I was invited to a 1st anniversary BBQ for a local Motorcycle Club in my area. . . so I decided to make Harley Davidson themed cupcakes … but what flavor should I make them? hmmmm … when I think of bikes I think of big strong MEN! and stereo-typically I think that big strong biker boys would be drinking WHISKEY! Jack Daniel’s Whiskey to be exact … So with that in mind I came to the conclusion that I would make Jack & Coke Cupcakes!

I had a basic Idea in my mind about which recipes I’d use and what I wanted from these cupcakes but looking online I found that most of the cakes were chocolate based … that didn’t incite any fires of desire for me to eat a chocolate cupcake when I wanted a cupcake reminiscent of a Jack & Coke that I’d serve at the bar (I am also a bartender, so drink flavors are my favorite cake flavors!) So I decided I’d wing it and mix and match a few of my favorite recipes and hope for the best!

20130823_151632

I started out with my FAVORITE cola cupcake recipe from Cupcake Project

Cupcake Ingredients:

  • 1 C cola (I used Stop & Shop Brand Cola this time, but I’ve used Coca-Cola and Pepsi in the past)
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 C sugar
  • 1/3 C canola oil
  • 2 tsp Soda Stream Cola Flavor
  • 1 1/3 C flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

Cupcake Instructions

  • In a medium-sized bowl, combine the soda and vinegar and let stand for a few minutes.
  • Add in the sugar and oil, whisking vigorously until slightly frothy.
  • Mix in the Cola Flavoring, flour, baking powder, and baking soda until just combined.
  • Fill cupcake liners approximately 3/4 of the way to the top.
  • Bake at 350 F for 20 minutes or until cupcakes bounce back when lightly touched.

Then I topped them with a Jack & Coke Syrup. You can make this while the cupcakes cool.

Jack & Coke Simple Syrup

  • To make the simple syrup, combine all ingredients in a small saucepan.  Heat over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the mixture is warm and the sugar has dissolved.  Set aside and let cool until ready to use.

& to top it all off .. a Jack Daniel’s Buttercream Frosting (Recipe adapted from Annie’s Eats Bailey’s Buttercream Frosting)

For Jack Daniel’s Buttercream Frosting

  • 4 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2-3 C confectioner’s sugar, sifted
  • 3-4 T Jack Daniel’s Whiskey
  • To make the frosting, place the butter in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment.  Beat on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes.  Gradually add the powdered sugar until it is all incorporated.  Mix in the Jack Daniel’s until smooth.  Add more if necessary until the frosting has reached a good consistency for piping or spreading.  Frost the cupcakes as desired. (I did not measure the sugar or the whiskey when I made my frosting, I would just add whatever amounts till u feel u have the right flavor and consistency)

After all of your components are finished, the cupcakes should be nice and cool. Poke holes in the cupcakes with a toothpick and brush some of the Jack & Coke Syrup onto the top of each cupcake. I did this twice for good measure. Then pack up your pastry bag with Frosting and swirl onto cupcakes as desired. ! Enjoy!

20130823_145406

<3 dEA

 

 

(SIDENOTE: I do not own the Harley Davidson Logo, the MC logo, Coca-Cola or Jack Daniel’s. although that would be AWESOME!)

Leave a Reply

